Things all first time mom’s will hear…


“Not possible, you’re a first time mom.” “It’s just gas.” “It’s hard to tell that early, ESPECIALLY when you’re a first time mom.” “You’re baby is not big enough to feel, it’s only an inch and a half.”
The above quotes are things that have actually been said to me, when I started feeling my baby for the first time and people thought it was too soon for a first time mom.

I was about 9 weeks pregnant when I felt what I was pretty sure was my baby girl. Yes, at this point she was very very small, and yes, it wasn’t gonna be a lot of movement, but I was pretty confident it was her. And not long after that, it was pretty much confirmed that I had been feeling her, when I went back in for my prenatal appointment at 11 weeks, and they used a Doppler to find her heart beat. She was right where I thought she was, because I had been feeling her. 

So other first time mom’s out there you will more than likey hear your fair share of absolutely ridiculous things from people. Or hear other ridiculous things from other first time mom’s.

I heard this one about a week ago, “So when the baby pulls on the umbilical cord, can I feel it?” Umm, like, how, like I don’t even know where to start with this one. “If I have sex on Monday will my baby be a girl?” Umm, no… “How many months is (insert number) weeks?” It’s really not that hard to figure out. “Pregnancy brain is not real.” Yes, yes it is, I have it, wait… Do I? Yes, I do, ask my husband.

Trust me, I could go on all day, about some of these things, but there just isn’t enough time in the day to write them all down.

But I think my main point of this post, is pregnant women will feel, and experience things at different rates (except for the umbilical cord thing, that’s not gonna happen), don’t let anyone tell you it’s not possible.

Leave a Reply

